Avoid at all costs. Salesman misled and refused to give deposit back. Sales manager after long argument agreed to refund but have since received nothing back. Lied about car and also deposit.
Reviewer has confirmed their email address
Darryl Camp from Eddie Wright Car Supermarket in response to Avoid at all costs
Hi, Very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. If you could call us on 01724 270255, as we can't locate any details for you due to your username, we'd love to try to resolve your issues. Thanks, Darryl, Customer Experience Manager
Friendly and Helpful Salesman – But That Is Where It Stopped!!! The Salesman was friendly and helpful; disappointingly the Sales Manager bumbled and lost a sale! After two weeks covering almost 800 miles in search for a car, we decided to visit Eddie Wright Car Supermarket in Scunthorpe. Greeted by Steven, one of the salesmen, who presented himself as a breath of fresh air compared to our previous experiences so far with pushy, arrogant, indignant and sometimes downright rude sales people in our search for a car. Eddie Wright’s display of prepared vehicles is outstanding compared to the majority in the East Midlands, however, I had a budget of between £4,000 - £4,500 to purchase a car for my daughter. I cannot praise Steven enough for his professionalism, intuitiveness and his mature ability not to pressurise, yet to be informative. To this extent, I believe he was very much aware that there was more money available in the ‘kitty’ and showed us a recent arrival which was £1,000 more than my prearranged budget!; a car which my daughter instantly fell in love with. After returning back home to Boston, Lincolnshire and consequently trawling Auto Trader, eBay and various other websites, along with visiting more car dealerships over an extended weekend, I was finally ‘bullied’ (if that is the right word!) into the beloved car we saw at Eddie Wrights, only to find that the price we had been given; £5,525 was in fact now £6,395! Clearly, an explanation was required, so an email went off to the Sales Manager at Eddie Wright (we would have emailed Steven but unfortunately, he did not possess a business card and gave us his Sales Manager’s details instead). Expecting there had been a pricing mistake on their website, I was happy to proceed. However, some 14 days later I still have not received a reply to my email from the Sales Manager at Eddie Wright as to why the car was priced at £900 more than what we were quoted, yet the car is still for sale on the website! I thought I had found the ‘yellow brick road’ to car sales (as anyone who has visited Eddie Wright will understand what the ‘yellow brick road’ is!). Disappointingly, this experience has not set a good precedence and I can only offer my commiserations to Steven who, on the day in question, worked so hard to get his sale, only to be let down by his Sales Manager, Can I say, I would not normally leave reviews through the social media, however, I notice from this website that Eddie Wright have an incredibly poor communication record yet they do in fact respond to reviews. It’s a shame they didn’t take the time to respond to my email!!
Reviewer has confirmed their email address
Darryl Camp from Eddie Wright Car Supermarket in response to Salesman Great ...But It Stops There!
Hi Raymond, We are very sorry to hear that you feel that your experience with us could have been better, but are glad that Steven was friendly and helpful and happy to hear that you were impressed with our showroom and vehicles; we take great pride in our store! Thank you for bringing this to our attention, it appears that the sales manager in questions is actually currently away from the office on leave, however, we've been able to access your email and one of our other sales managers will respond in kind. If you need anything else, please do get in touch with our customer services team on 01724 270755. Kind regards, Darryl, Customer Experience Manager
I'm not going to go into detail, but felt that sales staff were overly forceful. When we put a deposit on the car there were problems which they were reluctant to remedy. When we complained we were told we were being aggressive. Go elsewhere.
Darryl Camp from Eddie Wright Car Supermarket in response to Poor sales
Good morning, Very sorry that you felt that you had a bad experience in viewing a car with us. Please contact us on 01724270755, as we would love do discuss your case and remedy these issues. Kind regards, Darryl Camp, Customer Experience Manager
Purchased a car from a very professional sales person but their after sales are Appalling! I wouldn't touch them with a barge pole again now that I have seen how badly they operate! Be warned and steer clear!
Darryl Camp from Eddie Wright Car Supermarket in response to Great sales team. Appalling service!
Good morning, Very sorry to hear you are unhappy with your aftercare, but glad that our salesman was of help. As your review is anonymous, I can't find any details to investigate your case and find a solution. Could you please call our team on 01724 270755 and we will help in any way we can. Kind regards, Darryl Camp (Customer Experience Manager)
Absolute joke ! Bought car but was unhappy with discrepencies in mileage. Every piece of paperwork i have shows a different mileage, Been ignored, lied to and ignored again ! Only option now is trading standards. Stay well away from Eddie Wrights
Purchased a car from here unbelievable experience would fully recommend peter was 1st class thankyou bob
Reviewer has confirmed their email address
Eddie Wright Car Supermarket from Eddie Wright Car Supermarket in response to Fantastic thankyou
Thank you very much for your kind words, Bob. If you need anything, feel free to give us a call and we'll help as best as we can. We hope you enjoy your car! Darryl, Customer Experience Manager
I bought a vehicle from them last year and have had several problems as a result of work that was carried out on the car. If you ring to discuss or complain, you are accused of being aggressive. They are happy to sell you a car but not interested in issues. Also keen to persuade you to buy gap insurance which they obviously get commission for. Would never buy from them again. Over priced for what you actually get.
in all the years of buying cars i have never been accused of lying but the salesman was very rude the car i was viewing was poorly presented scratches all over back door rubber badly split but worse of all damage to drivers side passenger seat and they had tried to bodge making it 100per cent worse. definitely not a company to deal with
Reviewer has confirmed their email address
Bought car, had problem since day one. In 3 times to repair, phone calls not returned, letter delivered by hand and personally handed to a senior member of staff, yet it went missing!!!! They won't acknowledge anything. Stay clear of Eddie Wrights...
Debra easter in response to Don't buy from Eddie Wrights
My daughter and son in law bought a car in cash they have had nothing but trouble
As a family business, For nearly 90 years we pride ourselves on offering honesty, trust, and impeccable standards. We are confident that with up to 700 cars you won't find a greater selection and our Price Promise Guarantee means if you find a car of equal quality or value cheaper elsewhere we'll refund the difference. We are adhering to all of the relevant COVID 19 guidance including social distancing and regular cleansing of the site and all vehicles. You can visit us with complete confidence and reassurance that we have your safety and well being at the forefront of our minds. Another great benefit is our One Stop Shop Service, this allows you to make one journey and drive away the same day! The best way to find out more is to come and experience it for yourself, give us a call or visit www.eddiewright.co.uk and see what our customers think and what we have to offer.
Deals in: 4x4s, Cars, Vans
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership
founded in 1933
Excellent | 299 | |
Very Good | 30 | |
Average | 23 | |
Poor | 36 | |
Terrible | 45 |
Eddie Wright Car Supermarket
Warren Road
Scunthorpe
North Lincolnshire
DN15 6XH
Mon | 08:30 - 18:30 |
Tue | 08:30 - 18:30 |
Wed | 08:30 - 18:30 |
Thu | 08:30 - 18:30 |
Fri | 08:30 - 18:30 |
Sat | 08:30 - 17:30 |
Sun | 10:00 - 17:00 |
Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.
We offer UK dealerships an excellent opportunity to collect those all important reviews on your behalf for as little as £79 + VAT per month.
Learn more about how our service works below.
We know how to speak to your customers and give them a second to none personal service, one they always appreciate.
All reviews collected can be published on your AutoTrader page, you don't need to do a thing. It's that simple.
You can thank your customers first hand for leaving reviews about your business.
We know communication is important so automatic alerts via e-mail will be sent to your business once any reviews have been left for your dealership.
We can provide you with valuable monthly insights on your dealerships performance on cardealerreviews.co.uk.
This can be displayed in your showroom to assure customers of the excellent service you receive.
Upload image of your dealership to give customers a feel about your dealership before they arrive.
You'll become a recommended dealer and we'll send you promo material to boost your reputation.
Ensure your page is always fully updated and accurate, you have control to update all of the information you see.
Want help collecting more reviews for your business?
Enter your email address below and we'll be in touch soon.
Alternatively, you can email us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk
Here is what happens next:
We also offer Pay Per Review service available upon request meaning you can boost your rating overnight
You send us your customers contact details and we call them up and collect those all important reviews straight away.
See your excellent reviews we collect for you dealership broadcast on Car Dealer Reviews in a matter of hours
At Car Dealer Reviews we go further than other review sites, we ensure that you see the most trusted reviews by asking for verification.
By providing a sales invoice or receipt we know these reviewers have visited the dealership. So when you see this icon, you know it’s from a real customer.